Awards Season for Cathedrals

06th December 2022

Sandford Awards and Museum + Heritage Awards Now Open for Entries

Entries are now open for the 2023 Sandford Awards for Heritage Learning.

Worthy past winners include Lincoln Cathedral, Southwell Minster and Archbishop’s Palace, St Albans and Worcester cathedrals for their educational heritage offers.

The awards are non-competitive and provide an independent, quality-assured assessment of learning programmes and promote good practice in heritage education.

The Sandford Aawards exist to enable the public in general and young people, in particular, to learn about history, art, architecture and other subjects through engagement with historic buildings and sites, museums, landscapes, parks and gardens, cultures and traditions.

To find out more about the Sandford Award scheme and how to enter, click here.

The deadline for entries is Friday 17 February at 5pm.


Entries are also open for Museum and Heritage Awards which celebrate the very best in the world of museums, galleries, and cultural and heritage visitor attractions.

There are 17 different categories to enter this year from best visitor welcome to volunteers of the year.

Last year Durham Cathedral was shortlisted in the Marketing and Communications Campaign category for its Museum of the Moon.

The Awards are open to all museums, galleries and archives as well as digital, cultural, natural and built heritage.

And the website states they welcome and encourage entries from all areas of the cultural sector; from organisations that connect objects, stories and spaces with audiences and people, as well as the individuals, companies and organisations which support their work.

Each entry is judged on its own merit and the shortlist frequently features brilliant examples of low-cost, creative projects.

Deadline is 1 February

For more information click here.